Remembering Miss Cosma

1968 Mercerville Elementary

My 2nd grade teacher was wearing slacks, yes slacks, a big no for all females at our school. But there Miss Cosma was, in bellbottom slacks, holding a sign about fair pay. I’d never seen a protest before. From our classroom windows I could see them all marching in front of our school. I was mesmerized.

She was in her late 20s, single and I idolized her. She was completely opposite of my own mother who was frail and drowning in her depression.

I worked hard in class wanting to excel, so she would see I was like her. And even though she made every child in class feel special. She let me know she saw me. At 63 this still empowers me.

In 6th grade, we petitioned the school to allow us to wear pants under our dresses so we didn’t freeze. (We won.) From the Principal’s office where we stood with our petition, pleading our case, I caught a glimpse of Miss Cosma watching us from the hall, smiling.

Over the years, I’ve returned home, each time inquiring about her. I wish I had tried harder to find her, to let her know the impact she had on me at 7 years old. But honestly, I believe she knew.

I will always be forever grateful for the strong women who helped mold me. From my heart, thank you Miss Susan Cosma, 2nd grade Mercerville Elementary 1968

Daily writing prompt
Who was your most influential teacher? Why?

Leave a comment